Posted by: blondechief | July 14, 2008

Sunny Yellow Flip-Flops

Nothing says “summer” to me like a new pair of flip-flops.  Not the be-dazzled bling types now on the market for $12.99 and up.  I am talking about the plain old rubber/plastic kind you wore as a kid running under the sprinkler.  Every summer we spent at our cottage at Lake Ontario, all I wore were flip-flops or bare feet.  So you may be wondering what this has to do with “simple wealth”? 

I came home from work the other day and sitting by my reading chair was a bright, sunny yellow pair of brand new flip-flops with the price tag of $2.00 still attached.  My husband had been shopping at Wal-mart and noticed the yellow flip-flops and bought them for me.  He said, “I know how much you love your flip-flops and your favorite color of yellow, so I thought you would enjoy these.” Now take a moment and think about what a thoughtful gesture that was on his part.  Every day when I slip my feet into these color of the sun flip-flops, I have to smile. One, because I love them and had I seen them, I absolutley would have bought them for myself. And two, because my Husband takes the time to know my likes and dis-likes down to my favorite colors.  Sure, he could have bought me an expected, predictable piece of jewelry on an important occasion such as an anniversary, birthday etc., (we will be discussing that subject in the near future),  but those flip-flops will always rank right up there with one of the greatest gifts he ever bought me.  They were a total surprise and exactly what I like.  So the moral of the story is, you do not have to spend a lot of money to brighten someones day and that $2.00 gesture will never be forgotten.  That is what living the “simple wealth” way is all about.

Responses

  1. Enjoyed your ‘Sunny Yellow Flip-Flop’ excerpt & couldn’t agree with you more! 🙂

  2. Thank you for the nice comment, PT Diva


Leave a Reply

Categories

