Posted by: blondechief | July 31, 2008

The Purple Bracelet

Recently I read a book entitled “A Complaint Free World” by Will Bowen.  The book was put out as a challenge to inspire people to focus on how much they complain.  With the book comes a purple bracelet with the word “spirit” on it and their website.  The challenge is to wear the bracelet everyday as a reminder to not complain, if you complained you are to switch the bracelet back and forth on your wrists, until you can go for 21 days without complaining, thus 21 days of not moving the bracelet.  Does this sound easy to you? Trust me, it is not.  The very first day I wore the bracelet, a co-worker asked about it, so I explained what the challenge was and the bigger goal associated with it. Without thinking, her very first words were, “well, that will never happen”.  I responded with, no it will not, with that kind of a negative attitude.  So as the days went by, the bracelet got more attention. The responses were almost all the same, people were either very negative or amused by the whole thing.  Out of all the people I am in contact with daily, friends, family and co-workers, only one person responded favorably and asked to read the book.  I loaned him the book and also gave him a bracelet to wear.  He also found that this was indeed no easy challenge. My experience with this whole situation has made me aware of how negative people are and they seem to actually like to be that way. So, long story short, I continue to wear the bracelet because it is a constant and friendly reminder for me to not complain, gossip or otherwise be negative.  You are probably wondering how many days in a row I made it.  Did I make 21 days yet?  The answer is, NO I have not made it through 21 days yet.  The longest I have gone so far is four days.  I highly reccomend this inspiring little book for everyone to read.  It really helps you to focus on the positive things going on in your life and leaving out the negative things.  If you know anything at all about the universal “Law of Attraction”, you know that what you focus on the most is what you attract into your life.  As for me, I will focus on being thankful for what I already have in life, therefore attracting more good things to come my way.  Try it, what do you have to lose, besides a bad attitude, and that is the kind of “loser” I want to be!

Leave a Reply

Categories

