Posted by: blondechief | September 11, 2008

The Fall Season is Here, Time to Cozy up the Nest!

The fall season is quickly approaching here in the northeast.  I love this time of year but I try not to say it a lot because people always say, yes but winter is right behind it.  So true, but I do not like that negative attitude, so I don’t want to hear it.  The changing seasons are why I choose to live in Northeastern Pennsylvania.  So when fall/winter approaches I like to find ways to cozy up our home.  With cold weather and heating bills we are likely to spend more time at home inside, so I really like to make this an enjoyable time.  Pick a room that you spend the most time in as a family, or choose your bedroom for a peaceful respite.  Do a serious de-cluttering and cleaning process and when that is out of the way you can get to the fun stuff.  Just stick with one room so you will not feel overwhelmed or break your budget.  Put up some new thermal backed curtains in a fresh color, get some new throw pillows for the sofa or the bed.  Add a few soft, fuzzy throws for the back of the sofa or the end of the bed to cover up with for an indulgent nap on a chilly day. 

Pick a night of the week for movie night with the family.  Make up movie baskets loaded with popcorn and other goodies.  Stock up on flavored coffee, tea and hot chocolate with whipped cream. My personal favorite is hazlenut, yum-.  Stock up your pantry and spend lazy Sunday afternoons making chili, soups and stews, spaghetti sauces, that you can enjoy all week.  Look forward to enjoying your cozy nest instead of dreading the season ahead.  If you picked your bedroom, stock up on some wonderful reading material.  Make a pampering basket with scented soaps and lotions, fluffy towels, and anything else that says luxury to you.  Burn some softly scented candles and sip a glass of wine in the bubble bath.  What could be more relaxing than that?  So, I hope I have given you some ideas to expand on so that you can make the most of this wonderful season ahead of us.  Grab yourself a big glass of fresh apple cider and a big doughnut, put on a jacket, sit out on the porch, deck or whatever you have, and just enjoy the crisp fall air and the beautiful leaves and see if you can appreciate the simple wealth of this moment.  Happy Autumn!

Responses

  1. Your article is a breath of fresh air for me this morning. As much as I WANT to think like this 24/7 – I find myself being one of those who turn the autumn conversation to the gloom of winter, instead of enjoying the present.

    I just read a book called the Shack. In the book, the main character was asked if he thought God created us to live in the past, present, or future. After a short discussion, he reached the conclusion, that we were created to live in the present, but we seem to spend so much more of our time, living in the past or the future. I’m on my second time reading through the book, and still had the winter reaction to the talk of autumn.

    When will I ever learn. Maybe this morning’s confrontation with SimpleWealth, will finally push me over the edge on learning this lesson. I sure hope so. I need to surround myself with more people who think like this, so I can live life the way God created it – to live in the present.

    Thanks Blondechief!


Leave a Reply

Categories

