Posted by: blondechief | September 24, 2008

A short post today…..

I think the biggest obstacle to your health, wealth and happiness is “CLUTTER”.  You cannot organize clutter, but you can win and not let clutter control your life.  First and foremost, as with anything worthwhile, you have to make a commitment to yourself to start (just start, do not let the big picture overwhelm you) the de-clutter process.  The easiest approach I have found is the motto, “You can do anything for 15 minutes”.  This works for everyone.  Pick a drawer, a shelf, a corner or countertop and spend fifteen minutes sorting out the s.t.u.f.f. (remember stuff stands for “stifles you from freedom”).  Be ruthless and toss, give away, recycle and then find a home for whats left.  Do this every day or every weekend if that is all you can manage to start, and soon you will see enough positive results that you will become motivated and follow through with the rest of your home.  Today, just start.

Responses

  1. It’s amazing at how often your posts hit me between the eyes. It’s like you are my personal “coach” to living a better life. It is similar to the sermons at my local church, and quite frankly my daily readings in the Bible and other books.

    This concept, though matches our Sunday sermon last week. Both focus on not only hearing, but doing. The sermon was based on the concept from James 1:22-25 “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.”

    Your post helps me figure out how to DO what I know needs doing, but feel overwhelmed to do. In this case, it relates to clutter, which is a problem in some (but not all) areas of my life. I need to “JUST START” by committing to doing starting just 15 minutes a day. From another post, I remember that if I do something for 21 days, it becomes a habit.

    Thanks Blondechief. God uses his word and other people to shape me into the person he wants me to be.

  2. Paul,
    Thank you for your insight, and I can say to you, that you are in inspiration to me. Everything I write about is because I have been there, and if I can help one person make one small improvement in their life, then I believe that I have started a wave that will never stop.


Leave a Reply

Categories

